The Three Levels of Chimney Inspections

Everyone knows it is important to hire a professional to inspect their chimney at least once per year. It keeps soot, creosote, and other problems away so the fireplace provides the warmth and comfort you crave. But, what many homeowners don’t know is that chimney inspections are conducted on three levels. That’s right, there are three levels of chimney inspection maryland.

Level 1 Inspection

Most homeowners receive a Level 1 inspection each year. This is the basic inspection for chimneys without any changes during the year. The professional inspector will examine the chimney’s accessible areas, the interior, and the chimney connection. He’ll look for anything that is out of place or damaged.

Level 2 Inspection

A Level 2 Inspection is needed if changes have been made to the chimney over the year or since the last inspection. It is also required after the sale or transfer of the property. This inspection is more detailed than a Level 1 inspection. Along with visual inspections of the chimney, the flue, and its main components, this inspection includes a video inspection.

Level 3 Inspection

The Level 3 inspection is the most thorough of the inspections. Homeowners who opt to use the Level 3 inspection receive the same components in a Level 1 and a Level 2 inspection as well as removal of components and combustibles. This inspection provides peace of mind to the homeowner.

Final Thoughts

chimney inspection maryland

An annual inspection of the chimney is important to keep the unit properly functioning and to reduce the risk of fire and other hazards. Hire a certified inspector to provide the inspection each year and enjoy the comforts and peace of mind that it brings into your life. Chimney inspections provide an exceptional way to reduce the risk of a fire.